428056887 850934107046030 7963633542853330701 n
Picture of Office of Communications

Office of Communications

Denmark Technical College inducts 14 in inaugural Alumni Hall of Fame ceremony

Denmark Technical College has inducted 14 distinguished alumni into its inaugural class of the Alumni Hall of Fame. The 14 honorees span generations of Denmark Tech graduates, going back to the college’s formative years as South Carolina Area Trade School, and are an impressive example of the HBCU excellence the college has become known for.

The inductees include leaders in business, engineering, government administration, education and industry who have undergone a rigorous selection process and who have made significant contributions to their fields, community and the college.

“The Alumni Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed by the college to alumni,” said Willie L. Todd Jr., Ph.D., president and CEO of Denmark Technical College. “Each alumnus selected has demonstrated a significant commitment to Denmark Technical College and has achieved a high level of professional success. Their efforts have continued to shine a light on the good work being done at Denmark Tech and we are honored to have the opportunity to celebrate them in this meaningful way.”

The inaugural Alumni Hall of Fame class includes Margaret Belk, James W. Bowden Sr., James Byrd, Vicky Carter, Roosevelt Chaplin, Betty Dowling, Deloris Frazier, Richard Freeman, Ellis Nelson, Helen Palmer, Alvin Richardson, A. Ronald Sanders, Roosevelt Scott and David Wilkerson.

“I am honored to be inducted among this stellar group of DTC alumni,” said James W. Bowden Sr., president of the Denmark Technical College National Alumni Association and DTC Area Commissioner. “This distinguished group of honorees has achieved so much professionally and, more importantly, have continued to give back to younger generations of students so that they can reach their educational goals and continue on the legacy of this great HBCU.”

The Alumni Hall of Fame ceremony was held earlier in February, during the 2024 President’s Legacy Scholarship Gala, a centerpiece of DTC’s annual homecoming celebration which raises thousands for student scholarships. Each inductee contributed to the annual scholarship fund.

“We are elated to add the Alumni Hall of Fame to our homecoming festivities and are exited to see it grow to become an annual highlight for Denmark Tech. I thank our Executive Vice President, Dr. A. Clifton Myles for his vision and leadership in making this a reality.” added Todd.

Share this post